| Home |  
  About Iyengar Yoga | Iyengar Yoga : Therapy | In General
  FAQ's > About Iyengar Yoga  
Frequently asked questions(FAQs) about Iyengar Yoga
  • What is Yoga?
  • What are the different stages/aspects of Patanjali's Yoga?
  • What is Iyengar Yoga?
  • What are the unique features of "Iyengar Yoga"?
  • What is the relevance of yoga in today's world?

  • What is Yoga?
    Yoga is one of the six systems of Indian philosophy.

    The word "yoga" originates from the sanskrit root yuj which means Union. On the spiritual plane, it means union of the Individual Self with the Universal Self. Yoga is the union of the body, mind, emotions and intellect.

    Sage Patanjali penned down this subject in his treatise known as Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.

    What is the relevance of yoga in today's world?
    The practice of Iyengar yoga helps anyone to gain good health, mental peace, emotional equanimity and intellectual clarity.

    With a healthy body, clear mind and pure emotions, the practitioner can learn to excel in his chosen career.

    For example, violin maestro Lord Yehudi Menuhin acknowledges Guruji as his Best violin teacher.

    What are the different stages/aspects of Patanjali's Yoga ?
    Sage Patanjali's exposition consists of just 196 terse yoga sutras which cover all aspects of life, which are:

    a.Samadhi Pada (51 Sutras)

    b. Sadhana Pada (55 Sutras)

    c. Vibhuti Pada (56 Sutras)

    d. Kaivalya Pada (34 Sutras)


    The eight aspects (astanga) of yoga are :

    1.Yama : Depicts of moral and social conduct.
    These are a)Ahimsa, b)Satya, c)Astya, d)Bramhacharya and e)Aprigraha

    2.Niyama : Depicts disciplinary conduct.
    These are a)Shaucha, b)Santosha, c)Tapas, d)Swadhyaya and e)Ishvarapranidhana

    3.Asanas : Adjust the body in various postures

    4.Pranayama : Regulation of breath

    5.Pratyahara : Internalization of the senses of perception

    6.Dharana : Concentration

    7.Dhyana : Meditation

    8.Samadhi : The ultimate state of self realization.
    These are a)Samprajnata Samadhi (conscious) and b)Asamprajnata Samadhi (supraconscious)

    What is Iyengar Yoga?
    Sage Patanjali's treatise on Yoga consists of just 196 terse aphorisms compiled in the 5th century B.C.

    Yogacharya B.K.S. Iyengar has made it possible for ordinary human beings to experience the wisdom of the yoga sutras. He finds the meaning of the sutras by practical search and regular practice.

    Iyengar Yoga has shown and taught how all the eight aspects of astanga yoga are integrated. His style of teaching yoga which is now being followed by certified teachers has been called as "Iyengar Yoga".

    What are the unique features of "Iyengar Yoga"?

    Listed are few of the important features of Iyengar Yoga:

  • Iyengar Yoga can be practiced by all.
  • The emphasis is given to precision and alignment in all postures.
  • The use of self designed props such as wooden gadgets, belts, ropes helps the practitioner to achieve perfection in all the postures.
  • The aspect of "sequencing". An "Iyengar Yoga" practitioner is aware of the sequence in which different groups of asanas have to be performed.
  • Books
    " The mind must always remain in the state of present."